They Call me Oriental

(Inspired by Alysia Kayla Vargas’ “I am Not a Latina”)

They see my eyes as slits.

But these slits are like the sea line,

the depths are full of creepy crawlies

who shout “pork fried rice”

and laugh at the joke

they believe is my ethnicity.

 

Don’t call me your dumpling,

your egg roll,

or your fortune cookie.

Don’t call me your anything.

I am not yours at all.

 

They call me oriental,

as if my whole being

fits into an eight letter word.

They call me oriental,

as if my whole being

wasn’t made of fractals

of light and stars.

They call me oriental,

even though

they shouldn’t call me at all.

Leave a Reply

