Wish for Wilderness

Creaking crackling metal

runs over clacking tracks.

Lights flashes

through windows

and a voice

announces your arrival.

 

Arrival isn’t steady solid being,

it’s a temporary state

as easy to strip away

as taking a single small step.

Arrival morphs into leaving

much too easily.

 

Give me a moonful serenade,

crickets and frogs competing

with silence.

The shadows of tree branches

my only friends.

The light from fireflies

enough to read by.

 

Whispering rivers my religion

as grass bends and sways

to whistling winds.

 

Give me freedom to dream,

and sleep, and love

something wholly other

than you, or me, or them.

 

Give me silence and deafening sound,

give me hope that no one is around

to steal what shouldn’t be possessed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

