Sad Girl’s Love Song (Sylvia Plath Imitation)

I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead,

I lift swollen lids and nothing is right, again.

(I wish I made you up inside my head.)

 

The stars are marching in formation, blue and red,

And lovely blackness waltzes in,

I shut my eyes, and all the world drops dead.

 

I love how you bewitched me into bed,

And sung me awe-struck, kissed me back to sane.

(I wish I made you up inside my head.)

 

Seraphs fall from the sky, heaven’s light wanes.

Exodus of hateful foolish men.

I shut my eyes, and all the world drops, dead.

 

I know you’ll return, like you said.

I grow cold and whisper your name.

(I wish I made you up, inside my head.)

 

 

I couldn’t have loved any in your stead.

When spring comes, we’ll begin again.

I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead,

(I think I made you up inside my head.)

Leave a Reply

